Dirty Boy Gear Reviews

Violating quality outdoor gear since 2013

Salomon RX moc lab

The Salomon Rx Moc 3 in  communist red.

The Salomon Rx Moc 3 in communist red.

This shoe is fugly. Like, croc fugly. I didn’t want to see it, but I had no choice, the damn thing is a nice “neon menses red”. For a while I’ve been using a pair of unlaced trail gloves as my post climbing shoes. These are comfy, but not quite slip on.

They were released this spring as an addition to their “After sport” collection, and the things rock. I got them, as I said, for something to let my feet relax in after climbing. Unlike Sanuks (the current champion among mi amigos), these have tread. It’s nothing too serious, but it is there. Combined with the super light weight and pull tabs on the back (read: biner loops), the things rock.

Sanuk released a Chris Sharma endorsed shoe about two years ago called the “Base camp vagabond” or something like that. It used evolv sticky rubber, had a velcro closure and a biner loop. For some reason they stopped making it (I’ve never seen a pair in real life, so I can’t confirm or deny their raditude). The Rx Moc seems to be filling that same hole.

Another feature I love in a slip on, that has made an appearance in the Rx Moc is the lack of any discernible structure in the heel. This means they can quickly become slide ins when your stupid Carbon Dioxide alarm goes off so you don’t wind up suffocating because you can’t lace up your freaking corcoran marauders BECAUSE GOD DAMNIT THEY JUST LOOK SO GOOD I WANNA WEAR THEM IN MY UNDERWEAR.

So here it is.

Pros
*If the fashion police kill you, your feet will be visible from space.
*Light as hell. I’m not sure if it’s because I’ve acclimated to shitty combat boots or not, but these things are non existent.
*Pull tab on the heel
*Tread exists, which is nice for a slip on.
*Very very very comfortable.
*Fit snug enough to your foot to wear around and not slop around too much, but the flexible upper moves well too.

Cons
*Not very stealthy
*Lateral side feels slightly raised, but that could be me.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 11, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .